Districts In Odisha, List, Largest District, Population Defence Jobs, Sarkari Jobs



Districts in Odisha
Districts in Odisha: Odisha currently consists of 30 districts. There were only 5 districts when the Odisha province was established on April 1, 1936. Following that, the state saw the addition of a number of new districts throughout time. In Odisha, these thirty districts function as independent administrative units under the direct supervision of a District Magistrate (DM) and Collector. For further details, candidates are advised to go through the below article.

Districts in Odisha

Odisha is divided into 30 districts in total. The state also has 317 Tehsils, 314 Blocks, and 58 Subdivisions. Different people hold different leadership positions in these administrative units: Tehsildars are in charge of Tehsils, District Magistrates (DM) and Collectors are in charge of districts, and Sub-Collectors and Sub-Divisional Magistrates are in charge of subdivisions. 

The state of Odisha, which spans a vast 1,54,468 square kilometres, divides its districts into three separate divisions to enable more efficient management of administrative matters. See more details about the state’s administrative divisions to understand Odisha’s districts better.

List of Districts in Odisha

Odisha’s districts are divided into three divisions (Northern, Southern, and Central), each with ten districts, to facilitate administrative management. This classification facilitates efficient coordination and governance. For detailed info, check out the List of Districts in Odisha from the below table:-

List of Districts in Odisha

Angul Balangir Balasore
Cuttack Dhenkanal Gajapati
Jajpur Khordha Kalahandi
Koraput Malkangiri Nabarangpur
Nayagarh Rayagada Subarnapur
Boudh Bargarh Bhadrak
Debagarh Ganjam Jharsuguda
Jagatsinghapur Kendujhar Kandhamal
Kendrapara Mayurbhanj Nuapada
Puri Sambalpur Sundargarh

Districts of Odisha Map

Explore the map provided here to learn about the geographical locations of all Odisha districts. It provides a visual representation of the size and spatial distribution of the state’s districts, which can help candidates understand them better. To view the most recent list of Odisha districts, please refer to the image.

Districts in Odisha
Districts in Odisha

Districts in Odisha Population

Additional information about Odisha’s districts is provided below. The total area and population for each district in Odisha are shown in the table below. 

Districts in Odisha Population

SL. No Districts  Area Population
1 Angul 6,375 1,273,821
2 Boudh 3444.8 441,162
3 Balangir 6,575 1,648,997
4 Bargarh 5,837 1,481,255
5 Balasore 3,634 2,320,529
6 Bhadrak 2,505 1,506,337
7 Cuttack 3,932 2,624,470
8 Debagarh 2,782 312,520
9 Dhenkanal 4,452 1,192,811
10 Ganjam 8,206 3,529,031
11 Gajapati 3,850 577,817
12 Jharsuguda 2,081 579,505
13 Jajpur 2887.69 1,827,192
14 Jagatsinghapur 1,759 1,136,971
15 Khordha 2,813 2,251,673
16 Kendujhar 8,303 1,801,733
17 Kalahandi 7,920 1,576,869
18 Kandhamal 7,654 733,110
19 Koraput 8,807 1,379,647
20 Kendrapara 2,644 1,440,361
21 Malkangiri 5,791 613,192
22 Mayurbhanj 10,418 2,519,738
23 Nabarangpur 5,294 1,220,946
24 Nuapada 3,852 610,382
25 Nayagarh 3,890 962,789
26 Puri 3,051 1,698,730
27 Rayagada 7,073 967,911
28 Sambalpur 6,702 1,041,099
29 Subarnapur 2,337 610,183
30 Sundargarh 9,712 2,093,437

Administrative Structure of Districts in Odisha 

In order to improve management and revenue gathering, Odisha’s thirty districts are divided into three primary revenue divisions. Details about these revenue divisions and the Odisha districts that are connected to them are provided below. 

Administrative Structure of Districts in Odisha 

Northern Revenue Division Central Revenue Division Southern Revenue Division
Sambalpur Cuttack Ganjam
Bargarh Jagatsinghpur Gajapati
Jharsuguda Kendrapara Kandhamal
Debagarh Jajpur Boudh
Balangir Puri Kalahandi
Subarnapur Khordha Nuapada
Dhenkanal Nayagarh Koraput
Angul Balasore Rayagada
Kendujhar Bhadrak Nabarangpur
Sundargarh Mayurbhanj Malkangiri

Largest Districts in Odisha

One of the biggest districts in the state of Odisha is Mayurbhanj, which is located in the north. The district is well-known for its diverse topography and has an enthralling scenery that includes rolling hills, thick forests, and historical sites. Mayurbhanj has a rich cultural heritage that is deeply embedded in its roots, with ancient temples, regal palaces, and vibrant traditions that showcase its princely past. According to the most recent available data, Mayurbhanj has a population of 2,519,738 people and a land area of 10,418 square kilometres.

Districts in Odisha FAQs

How many districts are there in Odisha?

A: Currently, Odisha is divided into 30 districts. Initially, at its establishment on April 1, 1936, there were only 5 districts, but over time, more districts were added to the state.

What is the administrative structure of Odisha districts?

A: Each district in Odisha is a distinct administrative unit governed directly by a District Magistrate (DM) and Collector. The state also features subdivisions, Tehsils, and Blocks, each with its respective administrative leadership.

Is there information available about the total area and population of each district in Odisha?

A: Yes, detailed information about the total area and population of each district in Odisha is available in a provided table for those seeking specific data.

How is the state geographically organized for administrative purposes?

A: Odisha’s districts are categorized into three broad revenue divisions for efficient administration and revenue collection. These divisions are Northern, Southern, and Central, each comprising 10 districts.

Can you provide more details about the subdivisions and Tehsils in Odisha?

A: Odisha has 58 subdivisions and 317 Tehsils. Subdivisions are headed by Sub-Collectors & Sub-Divisional Magistrates, while Tehsils are led by Tehsildars.


Source link

Rate this post

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trending Results

Request For Post

Discover more from DefencelY

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading